Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
29

Does a landscape absorb us, as we absorb it?

Some thoughts for you from a Californian mountain top on the way landscape imprints itself on us.
29
Transcript

No transcript...

Pre-order The Giant on the Skyline here

Spending time in the desert and then the mountains in southern California over the last week for our kid’s spring break has made me think so much about the way landscape works in our psyche. I’m drawn to wide open, wild spaces, and I loved being in the desert. The desert also blew my mind a bit. We’ve then spent a few days in the cool, green space of the mountains. Both landscapes made me think a lot about the effect different landscapes have on us, and if it’s possible, even, for a landscape to absorb a person, as much as a person absorbs a landscape. I’m chatting about this idea on here and talking a bit about my new book The Giant on the Skyline, in which I explore this idea, along with many other ideas relating to home and belonging. I also just wanted to share the green trees and mountain air with you. When I was recording this a squirrel came and sat right beside me, just out of shot. It was very magical really.

29 Comments